Faith Song Mission, Isaiah 12 Records & Studios, and Vital Force Publishing is a Christ-centered mission and ministry, developed in two specific areas: First, in production, publishing and release of Scriptural, testimonial, public and/or personal expressions of the Christian faith in each applicable, cross-cultural context, through music, audio, written and visual art forms; and second for support of research, teaching and/or information sources and outreach ministries.
Music & Sound Gallery
Reviews & Press
The grassroots, folk CD Recompense bids the listener to reflect and contemplate pure faith: the faith of our fathers and mothers based in the Good Book- the King James Bible- that to which the early English and American Church adhered. This project was produced and crafted with basic faith principles in mind including humility, compassion, discernment, the family, and hard work for the Kingdom. In nature, it is a working man and woman's collection of songs, word-for-word Old Testament and New Testament Bible verses set to melody, harmony, and music. Ezra, Karen and James' son and Gabriel's younger brother, makes his vocal debut on this project. This was the Johns couple's CD album released just prior to their four year journey into Seminary and ministry in Canada.
1    Revelation 22:21   ( Lyrics & Audio )
     4 year old, Gabriel James, recites this Bible verse.
2    Psalm 127 (KJV)   ( Lyrics & Audio )
     Children come from God, they are our power in Christ for the generations to come... this Psalm accentuates the sanctity of life ministries, the value of children. By now a family of four, Gabriel and Ezra are teaching their parents, James and Karen, what it is to be made in the image of God: as a family they best emulate that.
3    I Asked the Lord   ( Lyrics & Audio )
     The Lord's Supper-Communion-the Eucharist, the outward sign that God dwells richly in His people. It is sanctified and holy, tying us gently and unbreakably to the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit; affirming baptism and confirming the faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. Inspired by Matthew 26:26-29; Luke 9:22; John 15:16, 20:1-31; Romans 5, 6, 14:19; Revelation 17:14.
4    The First Day (Genesis 1:1-5, KJV)    ( Lyrics & Audio )
     The account of the first day of creation is celebrated in the voices of husband and wife, James and Karen.
5    Isaiah 35 (KJV)   ( Lyrics & Audio )
     This song celebrates the holy prophesy of our future entrance into the Kingdom of God, a reality we shall experience in our Lord, the glorious day to come.
6    Song of Solomon 1:2-4 (KJV)    ( Lyrics & Audio )
     The Old Testament love poetry of King Solomon is, indeed, provocative as it beckons one to realize that passion between a man and a woman is a gift from God. This is a celebration of woman and man, husband and wife: the blessing and liberation in marriage.
7    James 5:1-8 (KJV)   ( Lyrics & Audio )
     James sings! This song examines the conscience in right living in this world. It is a ballad of the oppressed and a call to task of those who would overlord and exploit them.
8    Psalm 4:1 (KJV)    ( Lyrics & Audio )
     In RCA Studio B, Karen improvises this recording: Worship is a constant, prayer is a dialogue, the word of the heart is a song laden with each emotion.
9    Isaiah 12 (KJV)   ( Lyrics & Audio )
     The namesake of this record company... calling Israel, things that have been and that are to come, and for all who have come to the Lord. Repentance is stark realization, an awakening, a rending, and a literal turning away from rebellion and departure in a conscious moving back to God and manifestation of the inward and outward transformation of people.
10    The Harvest    ( Lyrics & Audio )
     Adapted from Luke 10: 1-11 (KJV), there is much work to be done: cultivation of the soil or the human heart; sowing the seeds of the Gospel truth; harvesting the grain or the reproduced life in Christ Jesus; multiplying the crop by speaking to the whole person for growth and completion. Along the way, there are obstacles to be overcome: indifference, antagonism, ignorance, error, indecision, love of darkness, isolation and selfishness... the Lord of the Harvest oversees our work.
11    Shamah   ( Lyrics & Audio )
     Hebrew: Deuteronomy 6:4-5
Translated: Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God is one Lord: And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thine heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy might.
12    St. John 1:1-14 (KJV)   ( Lyrics & Audio )
     Word for word, Karen sings her favorite Gospel selection from her favorite Gospel, the testimony of the Divinity of Jesus Christ according to St. John. For almost a year Karen had no lyrics for this piano piece she had written, and then one day, as she began to play, she opened to this Gospel and the Scripture flowed into the accompaniment.
Produced, written, and arranged by Karen L. Johns and James E. Johns.
Recorded and mixed by Fred Bogert at RCA Studio B, Nashville, Tennessee.
Mastered by David Shipley of Foxwood Mastering, Nashville, Tennessee.
Karen Johns- lead vocals, backing vocals, piano. James Johns- lead guitars, rhythm guitars, bass, lead vocals, backing vocals; Fred Bogert- bass, mandolin, coronet, keyboards, piano, percussion; Jim Edge- Shamah, backing vocals on The Harvest; Gabriel Johns- Revelation 22:21; Ezra Johns- laughter; Chris Munson- drums on Isaiah 35, The Harvest, St. John 1:1-14; Jaron Kallesen- violin on James 5:1-8; Karsten Kallesen- violin on The Harvest; Pastor Doug Kallesen- drums on I Asked the Lord.